Posted in 10th Grade, Social Justice, Uncategorized

(Updated) Social Justice Unit with All American Boys and The Hate U Give

Since last year, I have been compiling resources to teach with All American Boys to my CP level students. I taught the book for the first time in the Spring of this school year, and it was definitely the highlight of the semester. I was able to connect it to many themes throughout the semester, and the students remembered and quoted the book all the way up to the exam. We had discussions in class after each chapter that I haven’t had with this level in a long time.

Social Justice Unit Outine

I’ve updated my outline to add some new resources from the #TeachTheHateUGive on Twitter and the dedicated Facebook page. Let me know if there’s anything else out there that I should add. I know I need to add to the News section (but it’s so depressingly negative).

Also, let me know if you use this at all and how it goes!

Leave a Reply

